Free Contests for 2017


Chicago Tribune’s 2017 Nelson Algren Literary Award $3500 first prize/ four finalists at $1000, and runners-up at $500. Any genre, fiction under 8000 words. Deadline January 31. Guidelines here. NO FEE

Philosophy Through Fiction’ Short Story Competition $500 first prize, any genre, 1000-7500 words. Please submit your story to Read guidelines. NO FEE

2017 Wergle Flomp Humor Poetry Contest $1000 for best   humor poem, $250 for 2nd, ten honorable mentions at $100 each. Any genre, no longer than 250 lines. Deadline: April 1.     NO FEE

Prose.COM – $100 Challenge of the Week Flex your creative muscles and try out different forms with this weekly challenge based on a wide variety of prompts. You must register with in order to enter. No fee to register or enter. Deadline: Weekly.

l-ron-hubbardRon Hubbard’s Writers of the Future Contest is an opportunity for new and amateur writers of new short stories or novelettes of science fiction or fantasy. No entry fee is required. Entrants retain all publication rights. All awards are adjudicated by professional writers only. Prizes every three months: $1,000, $750, $500, Annual Grand Prize: $5,000 additional! No entry fee is required, and all rights in the story remain the property of the author. All types of science fiction, fantasy and dark fantasy are welcome. Entries must be works of prose, up to 17,000 words in length. No poetry or works intended for children. Deadline: Quarterly: March 31, July 30, September 30, and December 31. Full guidelines and submission link  here .

Tony Hillerman Prize Presented by St. Martin’s Press and WORDHARVEST, this prize awards the best first mystery novel set in the Southwest with $10,000 and publication by St. Martin’s Press.
It’s open to professional or non-professional writers who have not yet had a mystery published, and there are specific guidelines for the structure of your story: “Murder or another serious crime or crimes must be at the heart of the story, with emphasis on the solution rather than the details of the crime.”

W.Y. Boyd Literary Award for Excellence in Military Fiction If you’re a war buff, this competition is for you. It awards $5,000 to the best piece of fiction set during a period when the U.S. was at war (war may either be the main plot of the piece or simply provide the setting). Submissions may be adult or YA novels.
Deadline: Annually on December 1.

The Diana Woods Memorial Award in Creative Non-Fiction Creative nonfiction essays of no more than 5,000 words on any subject, are eligible for consideration for this award, whose winner receives $250 and publication in Lunch Ticket, the literary and art journal produced by the MFA community of Antioch University Los Angeles. Works must not have been published elsewhere. Award winners are required to submit a 100-word biography, recent photo and a short note thanking the Woods family for their generosity and support.
Deadlines: Biannual reading periods are the month of February for the Summer/Fall issue and the month of August for the Winter/Spring issue.


About Springfield Writers' Guild

Springfield Writers' Guild was formed in 1943 to encourage new writers and hone the skills of the writing craft. The group meets every fourth Saturday of the month (except for December) at McAlister's Deli, 1711 W. Battlefield in Springfield, Missouri. Visitors are welcome.
This entry was posted in Contest. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s